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COMPLAINT FOR EVICTION AND DAMAGES

*** Important Information ***

Notice: Information or forms provided by the Clerk of the Court should
be considered as basic information only and may not be applicable to
every situation. The information is not intended to be used as legal
advice. Specific guidance concerning filing a lawsuit, answering a
lawsuit or questions about your individual situation should be directed
to a qualified attorney.

A tenant eviction is the legal procedure a landlord must follow to have a
tenant removed from the landlord’s property.

FILING FEES:

Tenant Eviction (Possession Only) $185.00

Tenant Eviction and Damages $185.00

Summons Issuance Fee $10.00 Per Summons

IN ADDITION TO THE FILING FEE AND SUMMONS ISSUANCE FEE, you must
contact a private process server, or persons allowed to do service in the
county where the service is to be done, to obtain their service fees.

e |[f service is outside of Duval County, you must contact
the Sheriff of that county to obtain applicable service

fees.

When should this packet be used?

e Residential Tenant Eviction and Damages is used to obtain
possession of the property for non-payment of rent and
back payment of rent (damages).

e The tenant did not pay the rent based on an oral or written
lease agreement on a residential property.



Before a lawsuit is filed, you must deliver the Notice from Landlord to
Tenant

— Termination for Failure to Pay Rent
Review the Filing Checklist prior to completing any forms.

Refer to chapters 45 through 57 and chapter 83 of the Florida Statutes
for information regarding filing a tenant eviction case.
e Copies of these statutes are available at the Law Library located in the Duval

County Courthouse, at your public library or online through the Florida
Legislature website at http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes.

Do Not Sign any documents that require a notary or deputy clerk
signature until you are in front of the notary or deputy clerk.

Retain Copies of all forms filed for your records.

Documents Must Be Legible, type written or legibly handwritten in
black or blue ink.

It Is Important that the names and addresses are the same on all documents.

A Delay Can Occur because of any errors on your paperwork or if the
proper fees are not submitted.

Do Not Accept Any Rent after initiating the eviction process or your
case may be dismissed per Florida Statute 83.56(5).



http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes

DELINQUENT TENANT FLOWCHART — COUNT 1 POSSESSION ONLY

Landlord posts or delivers
Notice to Tenant

—

Wait 3 days (excluding Saturday, Sunday

and legal holidays observed by the Clerk)

for failure to pay rent

Landlord files Complaint with attached Copy of Lease (if any) and Copy of
Notice, Civil Cover Sheet, Summons with Clerk — Clerk issues Summons (1

original, 2 copies per Defendant) Certificate of Mailing, and pre-addressed,
stamped envelopes for each Defendant

Defendant Served

+_—_I

Wait 5 business days from date of service or if posted,
from date of posting or mailing whichever is later

— Personal Service
]

If Summons posted,

mailing packet required

v

Answer from Tenant —No
rent moneys deposited

l

Landlord files Motion for
Court Default, Non- Military
Affidavit, Motion for Final
Judgment and Proposed
Final Judgment (1
original, 1 copy each
Plaintiff and Defendant
and self-addressed
stamped envelopes)

v

No Answer from Tenant
and no moneys

l

Landlord files Motion for
Clerk Default, Non- Military
Affidavit, Motion for Final
Judgment and Proposed
Final Judgment (1 original, 1
copy each
Plaintiff and Defendant
and self-addressed
stamped envelopes)

v

Answer from Tenant and rent moneys deposited,
No Answer but rent moneys deposited or Answer
from Tenant and Motion to Determine Rent

Landlord files Non-Military Affidavit
and Motion for Final Judgment with a
copy of the Proposed Final Judgment

Landlord wins suit and Court enters Final Judgment

Landlord loses suit

If Tenant still in property Landlord files Writ of

Possession with the clerk and pays $90.00 to the Sheriff



DELINQUENT TENANT FLOWCHART — COUNT 2 DAMAGES/MONEY

ﬁ Money owed to Landlord —l

Tenant originally served Tenant originally served
by personal service by posting
Defendant Served — Must Landlord files 20-day

be Personal Service Summons with Clerk

v

Answer from Tenant No Answer from Tenant

Landlord files Affidavit of Damages
Landlord files Affidavit of Damages, Motion for

Clerk Default, Motion for Default Final
Judgment and Proposed Final Judgment (1
original, 1 copy each Plaintiff and Defendant
and self- addressed stamped envelopes)

\ 4

Landlord brings Proposed Final Judgment to
the Hearing (1 original, 1 copy each Plaintiff
and Defendant and self-addressed

stamped envelopes)



FILING CHECKLIST

RESIDENTIAL EVICTION FOR NON-PAYMENT OF RENT
(POSSESSION AND DAMAGES)

STEP ONE — FILE CASE WITH CLERK

To file an Eviction case, you may file the following forms along with the filing fee and any
service fees, if applicable, with the Clerk’s office.

Complaint for Eviction with attached copy of the written lease agreement, if any, and
Notice to Pay Rent

(1) Original and (3) copies for each Defendant to be served*

Civil Cover Sheet

Authorization of Property Manager — Only provide if you are a property manager filing a
complaint on behalf of a landlord.

Summons on Claim for Possession of Residential Premises

(1) Original and (1) copy for each Defendant to be served along with pre-

addressed stamped envelopes (4 stamps each)*
Certificate of Mailing
20 Day Summons

(1)Original and (1) copy for each Defendant to be served

*If you anticipate posting, per Florida Statute 48.183, the landlord must provide an additional copy of
the complaint, summons and a pre-addressed stamped envelope for mailing to each Defendant.

STEP TWO — OBTAIN JUDGMENT

5 days (excluding weekends and legal holidays) after service on the Defendant(s) and the
defendant(s):

DID NOT respond OR deposit money into the Registry of the Court, you may file the following
forms:

Non-Military Affidavit
Motion for Clerk’s Default — Residential Eviction
Motion for Default Final Judgment — Residential Eviction
Final Judgment — Residential Eviction — (1) Original and (1) copy for each Plaintiff and
Defendant along with pre-addressed stamped envelopes for each party

OR

DID respond, but DID NOT deposit any money into the Registry of the Court, you may file the
following forms:




Non-Military Affidavit
Motion for Court’s Default — Residential Eviction
Motion for Default Final Judgment — Residential Eviction
Final Judgment — Residential Eviction — (1) Original and (1) copy for each Plaintiff and

Defendant along with a pre-addressed stamped envelopes for each party.
OR

DID respond AND deposited money into the Registry of the Court OR DID respond AND filed
a Motion to Determine Amount of Rent, you may file the following forms:

_____ Final Judgment — Residential Eviction — (1) Original and (1) copy for each Plaintiff and

Defendant along with a pre-addressed stamped envelopes for each party.

Note — In some cases the Judge assigned to your case may require that you submit a
Non-Military Affidavit prior to signing the Final Judgment.

If the Judge grants your complaint, a Final Judgment will be signed.

STEP THREE — OBTAIN WRIT OF POSSESSION

If the Defendant(s) refuse to leave the property after the Final Judgment has been signed,
you may file a Writ of Possession and have it issued by the Clerk, allowing the Sheriff’s Office
to remove them from the property.

Writ of Possession - (1) Original and (1) copy for the Sheriff's Office

Payment Options for Writ of Possession:

e $7.00 Cash, credit card, cashier’s check, or money order payable to the Duval County Clerk
of Court
o Submitted to the Clerk along with the Writ of Possession
o $90.00 payment for service of the Writ payable to the Jacksonville Sheriff’s
Office

STEP FOUR — OBTAIN JUDGMENT — DAMAGES - COUNT I

In accordance with Florida Statute 48.031, in order to obtain a judgment for damages (count
1), a separate personal service must be made if the original summons was posted. If personal
service is needed, you may submit the following to the clerk at ANY time after the original
summons was posted.

20 Day Summons
(1)Original and (1) copy for each Defendant to be served



20 days after personal service on the Defendant(s) and the Defendants:

DID NOT respond OR deposit money into the Registry of the Court, you may file the following
forms:

Affidavit of Damages
Motion for Clerk’s Default — Damages
Motion for Default Final Judgment — Damages
Final Judgment — Damages — (1) Original and (1) copy for each Plaintiff and Defendant
along with a pre-addressed stamped envelopes for each party

OR

DID respond to Count Il — Damages AND/OR deposit money into the Registry of the Court,
you may file the following forms:

Affidavit of Damages
Final Judgment — Damages — (1) original and (1) copy for each Plaintiff and Defendant
along with pre-addressed stamped envelopes for each party

Additional Forms, if applicable

Motion and Order to Disburse Funds from Registry of the Court
This form should only be used if any funds were deposited into the Registry of the Court
and you would like to have it disbursed to you

Disclosure from Nonlawyer

This form should only be used if a nonlawyer assists you in completing any forms. The
nonlawyer must complete the Disclosure form and both of you are to sign it prior to the
nonlawyer assisting you with any forms.

Notice of Voluntary Dismissal
If you decide not to proceed with your case prior to a judgment being entered, you
should file a Notice of Voluntary Dismissal.

Notice from Landlord of Intent to Impose Claim on Security Deposit

Pursuant to F.S. 83.49(3)(a), you must return a tenant’s security deposit to the tenant no
more than 15 days after the tenant leaves the leased property. You may claim all or a
portion of the security deposit only after giving the tenant written notice by certified
mail to the tenant’s last known mailing address of your intention to keep the deposit
and the reason for keeping it. If the tenant does not object to the notice, you may keep



the amount stated in the notice and must send the rest of the deposit to the tenant
within 30 days after the notice.

THIS DOES NOT CONSTITUTE LEGAL ADVICE. Civil court information
and forms provided by the Duval County Clerk of Court should be
considered informational only and may not be applicable in every
situation. The information is not intended to be used as legal advice.
Specific guidance as to how to proceed with filing or answering a
lawsuit and questions about your particular situation should be
directed to a qualified attorney.



STEP ONE

FILE CASE WITH CLERK



NOTICE FROM LANDLORD TO TENANT — TERMINATION FOR FAILURE TO PAY RENT

To: Tenant's Name:

Address:

City, State, Zip:

From:

Date Delivered:

You are hereby notified that you are indebted to me in the sum of $ for the rent
(insert amount owed by tenant)

And use of the premises located at

(insert address of premises including county)
Florida, now occupied by you and that I demand payment of the rent or possession of the delivery of this
notice to-wit: on or before the day of , 20
(three days from the delivery of notice — excludes date of delivery, Saturday, Sunday and legal holidays)

Signature

Name of Landlord/Property Manager (circle onc)

Address (street address where Tenant can deliver rent)

City, State, Zip Code

Telephone
Hand Delivered on:
Posted on:

This form was completed with the assistance of
Name:
Address:
Telephone Number:



NOTICE FROM LANDLORD TO TENANT — TERMINATION FOR NONCOMPLIANCE OTHER

THAN FAILURE TO PAY RENT

To:

Tenant's Name:

Address:

City, State, Zip:

From:

Date Delivered:

You are hereby notified that you are not complying with your lease in that (insert noncompliance):

Demand is hereby made that you remedy the noncompliance within seven days of receipt of this notice or
your lease shall be deemed terminated and you shall vacate the premises upon such termination. If this
same conduct or conduct of a similar nature is repeated within twelve months, your tenancy is subject to
termination without your being given an opportunity to cure the noncompliance.

Hand Delivered on:
Posted on:

This form was completed with the assistance of

Name:
Address:

Telephone Number:

Signature

Name of Landlord/Property Manager (circle one)

Address (street address where Tenant can deliver rent)

City, State, Zip Code

Telephone



FORM 1.997. CIVIL COVER SHEET

The civil cover sheet and the information contained in it neither replace nor
supplement the filing and service of pleadings or other documents as required
by law. This form must be filed by the plaintiff or petitioner with the Clerk of
Court for the purpose of reporting uniform data pursuant to section 25.075,
Florida Statutes. (See instructions for completion.)

I. CASE STYLE

IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)

I1. AMOUNT OF CLAIM
Please indicate the estimated amount of the claim, rounded to the
nearest dollar. The estimated amount of the claim is requested for data
collection and clerical processing purposes only. The amount of the claim
shall not be used for any other purpose.

_|—_ $8,000 or less
[ $8,001 - $30,000
[ $30,001- $50,000
[ $50,001- $75,000
[ $75,001-$100,000
[ over $100,000.00

III. TYPE OF CASE (If the case fits more than one type of case,
select the most definitive category.) If the most descriptive label is a
subcategory (is indented under a broader category), place an x on both the
main category and subcategory lines.

CIRCUIT CIVIL

__Condominium
__ Contracts and indebtedness
__Eminent domain
__Auto negligence
_ Neoligence—other
_ Business governance



_Business torts
_Environmental/Toxic tort
_Third party indemnification
_Construction defect
_Mass tort
_Negligent security
_Nursing home negligence
_Premises liability—commercial
Premises liability—residential
_ Products liability
_ Real nroperty/Mortgage foreclosure
_Commercial foreclosure
_Homestead residential foreclosure
_Non-homestead residential foreclosure
__Other real property actions
Professional malpractice
_Malpractice—business
_Malpractice—medical
__Malpractice—other professional
_ Other
_Antitrust/Trade regulation
_Business transactions
_Constitutional challenge—statute or ordinance
_Constitutional challenge—proposed amendment
_Corporate trusts
_Discrimination—employment or other
_Insurance claims
_Intellectual property
_Libel/Slander
_Shareholder derivative action
_Securities litigation
_Trade secrets
_Trust litigation

COUNTY CIVIL

_Civil

_Real Property/Mortgage foreclosure
_Replevins

_Evirtions

_Residential Evictions
_Non-residential Evictions
_Other civil (non-monetary)

IV. REMEDIES SOUGHT (check all that apply):



_Monetary;
_Nonmonetary declaratory or injunctive relief;
_Punitive

V. NUMBER OF CAUSES OF ACTION: [ ]
(Specify)

VL. IS THIS CASE A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT?
yes

_I—_l'lO

VII. HAS NOTICE OF ANY KNOWN RELATED CASE BEEN FILED?
1 Tno
|| yes If “yes,” list all related cases by name, case number, and
court.

VIII. IS JURY TRIAL DEMANDED IN COMPLAINT?
I Tyes
| no

IX. DOES THIS CASE INVOLVE ALLEGATIONS OF SEXUAL ABUSE?
[ Tyes
[ no

I CERTIFY that the information I have provided in this cover sheet is accurate
to the best of my knowledge and belief, and that I have read and will comply
with the requirements of Florida Rule of General Practice and Judicial
Administration 2.425.

Signature Fla. Bar #

(Attorney or party) (Bar # if attorney)

(type or print name) Date



IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff{(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)
COMPLAINT FOR EVICTION AND DAMAGES
COUNT I -TO RECOVER POSSESSION
Plaintiff(s) sues
Defendant(s) and alleges:
1. This is an action to evict a tenant from real property in Duval, Florida.
2. Plaintiff owns the following described real property in the county:
3. Defendant has possession of the property underan | | oral | | written agreement to
pay rent of $ payable | weekly monthly other .
A copy of the written agreement, if any, is attached as Exhibit “A”.
4. Defendant failed to:
pay rent due
non-compliance other than failure to pay rent.
5. Plaintiff served defendant with a notice on to pay the rent or

deliver possession, but defendant refuses to do either. A copy of the notice is attached as
"Exhibit B".

WHEREFORE, plaintiff demands judgment for possession of the property against the defendant.



COUNT IT — FOR DAMAGES

Plaintiff(s) sues Defendant(s) and states:
1. Plaintiff restates those allegations contained in paragraphs 1 through 5 above.

2. Defendant owes Plaintiff $ that is due with interest for
(insert past due rent amount)

the period of

(insert dates of rental payments Tenant failed to make)

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff demands judgment for damages and costs against defendant(s).

Signature

Name [Print]

Address

City, State, Zip Code

Telephone

This form was completed with the assistance of
Name:

Address:

Telephone Number:



IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff{(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)
AUTHORIZATION OF PROPERTY MANAGER
My name is , and I am the landlord for the

property located at the following address:

My property manager’s name is

My property manager is responsible for the renting, maintenance, and collection of rent
for the above-described residential property.

I hereby authorize my property manager to complete, sign, and file the pleadings
necessary to evict a tenant for nonpayment of rent. I understand that the court file shall
reflect that I am the plaintiff in the case. I also understand that my property manager
cannot seek to recover past due rent on my behalf.

If the action becomes contested and a hearing is required, I understand it will be
necessary to appear personally on my own behalf (if I am an individual owner) at
such hearing or through my attorney.

If the owner is a corporation or other legal entity, and if the action becomes contested and
a hearing is required, I understand that it will be necessary to be represented by an
attorney at such hearing to continue the eviction process.

Landlord and Plaintiff



IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff{(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)

EVICTION POSSESSION — COUNT I

YOU ARE COMMANDED to serve this Summons and a copy of the Complaint or petition in
this action on:

Defendant(s):
Address:
City, State, Zip:

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY

You are being sued by the PLAINTIFF to require you to move out of the place where you are
living for the reason(s) given in the attached Complaint.

You are entitled to a trial to decide whether you can be required to move, but you MUST do
ALL of the things listed below within FIVE (5) business days (not including Saturday, Sunday
or any legal holiday) after the date these papers were given to you or to a person who lives with
you and is over the age of 15 or were posted at your home.

THE THINGS YOU MUST DO TO CHALLENGE THE EVICTION ARE AS
FOLLOWS:

1. Write down the reason(s) why you think you should not be forced to move. The written
reason(s) must be given or mailed to the Duval County Clerk of Court located at 501
West Adams Street, Room 1054, Jacksonville, Florida 32202, and include your signature,
phone number, email address and case number.

2. Mail or take a copy of your written reason(s) to: Plaintiff or Plaintiff’s Attorney whose
name and address is:




3. You must pay the Clerk of Court the amount of rent that is due. You MUST pay any
rent that becomes due until the lawsuit is over. Whether you win or lose the lawsuit,
the judge may release this rent to the landlord. *If you are a resident of public housing,
you are only required to deposit your portion of the rent into the Registry.

4. If you and the landlord do not agree on the amount of rent owed, you must file a written
request (motion) that asks the judge to decide how much money you must pay to the
Clerk of the Court. A copy of the motion must also be mailed, or hand delivered to the
plaintiff(s) attorney or if the plaintiff(s) has no attorney, to the plaintiff.

Any payment into the Registry of the Court must be in the form of cash, cashier’s check,
or money order. A Clerk’s Registry Fee of 3% on the first $500.00 deposited and
1.5% for each subsequent $100.00 must be paid in addition to the monies deposited
in _the registry. Scan this code to calculate the total you will need to bring when you
pay into the Court Registry:

5. IF YOU DO NOT DO ALL OF THE THINGS SPECIFICED ABOVE WITHIN FIVE
(5) WORKING DAYS AFTER THE DATE THAT THESE PAPERS WERE GIVEN TO
YOU OR TO A PERSON WHO LIVES WITH YOU AND IS OVER THE AGE OF 15
OR WERE POSTED AT YOUR HOME, YOU MAY BE EVICTED WITHOUT A
HEARING OR FURTHER NOTICE.

You may want to call a lawyer right away. If you do not know a lawyer, you can contact the
Lawyer Referral Service on The Florida Car’s website. If you cannot afford a lawyer, you may
be eligible for free legal aid. You can locate legal aid programs by searching for “legal aid” on
The Florida Bar’s website.

If you are a person with a disability who needs any accommodation in order to participate
in this proceeding, you are entitled, at no cost to you, to the provision of certain assistance.
Please contact:

The 4™ Judicial Circuit ADA Coordinator
Phone Number: (904) 255-1695
Email Address: crtintrp@coj.net



mailto:crtintrp@coj.net

Contact the ADA Coordinator at least 7 days before vour scheduled court appearance, or
immediately upon receiving this notification if the time before the scheduled appearance is
less than 7 days: If vou are hearing or voice impaired, call 711.

THE STATE OF FLORIDA:
To each Sheriff of the State: You are commanded to serve this Summons and a copy of the
Complaint in this lawsuit on the above-named Defendant(s).

DATE:

JODY PHILLIPS
CLERK OF THE COURT

By:

Deputy Clerk



IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff{(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)

EVICTION DAMAGES SUMMONS - COUNT 11

YOU ARE COMMANDED to serve this Summons and a copy of the Complaint or petition in
this action on:

Defendant(s):
Address:
City, State, Zip:

Each defendant is further required to serve written defenses to the demand for back rent or any
other damages alleged in the complaint on the above plaintiff within 20 days after service of this
summons on the defendant, exclusive of the day of service, and to file the original of the written
defenses (response) with the Clerk of the Court either before service on plaintiff or thereafter. If
you fail to do so, a default may be entered against the defendant for the relief demanded in that
portion of the complaint.

THE STATE OF FLORIDA:
To each Sheriff of the State: You must also provide a copy of your written response by mail,
email or hand delivery to the Plaintiff named below.

Plaintiff’s name

Address

DATE:

JODY PHILLIPS
CLERK OF THE COURT
By:

Deputy Clerk



IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff{(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)
CERTIFICATE OF MAILING

I, JODY PHILLIPS, Clerk of the Circuit and County Courts, Duval County, Florida do hereby
certify that a copy of the summons and complaint in this cause has been mailed by first class
mail to the defendant(s)

at

the address provided by the landlord, in accordance with Sections 48.183(2) Florida Statutes.

Witness my hand and seal at Duval County, Florida and dated this day of
, 20
JODY PHILLIPS
CLERK OF THE COURT
By:

Deputy Clerk



NOTICE OF INTENTION TO IMPOSE CLAIM ON SECURITY DEPOSIT

To: Tenant's Name:

Address:

City, State, Zip:

From:

Date Delivered:

This is a notice of my intention to impose a claim for damages in the amount of $ upon your
(insert amount of damages)

Deposit due to

(insert damage done to premises or other reason for claiming security deposit)
This notice is sent to you as required by 83.49(3), Florida Statutes. You are hereby notified that you must
object in writing to the deduction from your security deposit within 15 days from the time you receive
this notice, or I will be authorized to deduct my claim from your security deposit. You objection must be
sent to:

(Insert Landlord’s address)

Signature

Name of Landlord/Property Manager (circle one)

Address (street address where Tenant can deliver rent)

City, State, Zip Code

Telephone

This form was completed with the assistance of
Name:
Address:
Telephone Number:



IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff{(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)

ANSWER — RESIDENTIAL EVICTION

1. The defendant answers the complaint as follows (Check ONLY 1, a. or b.)
a. _Defendant generally denies each statement of the complaint.
b. _Defendant admits that all the statements of the complaint are true EXCEPT:

(1) The following statement(s) in paragraph(s) of the
complaint is/are false. Please explain:

(i1) I do not know whether the information in paragraph(s) of
the complaint us/are true or false, so I am denying them.

2. If you write down any defense other than payment of rent, then you must take one of the
following steps:

a. Ifyou agree with the landlord about rent owed, then you must pay rent owed into
the court registry when you file this response.

b. If you disagree with the landlord about the rent owed for any reason, then you must check
box 3(b) below and describe with detail why you disagree.

¢. You MUST pay the Clerk of Court the rent each time it becomes due until the lawsuit is
over.

If you fail to follow these instructions, then you will lose your defenses. You will not have a hearing in
your case and you may be evicted without a court date.



3. The defendant sets forth the following defenses to the complaint: )Check ONLY the defenses that
apply, and state brief facts t support each checked defense.)

a.

The landlord did not make repairs, and I withheld my rent after sending written
notice to the landlord. (Attach a copy of the written notice to the landlord.) Please
explain:

. _ I do not owe the total amount of rent or ongoing amount of rent the landlord
claims I owe. I am also asking this court to determine the amount of rent that must be
deposited into the court registry and requesting a hearing. (Motion to Determine Rent.)
Please explain:

I attempted / offered to pay all the rent due before the notice to pay rent expired,
but the landlord did not accept the rent payment. Please explain:

I paid the rent demanded by the landlord un the notice to pay rent. Please explain:

The landlord waived, changed, or canceled the notice that required me to move
out of the residence. Please explain:

The landlord filed the eviction in retaliation against me. For example, the tenant
has complaint to a governmental agency charged with responsibility for enforcement of
building, housing, or health codes of a suspected violation, or tenant has complained
directly to the landlord. Please explain:

) _ The landlord filed the eviction in violation of the Federal Fair Housing Act
and/or the Florida Fair Housing Act. Please explain:




h. The landlord accepted rent from m after sending me the notice to terminate,
Please explain:

. _Talready corrected the violations claimed by the landlord on the notice to
terminate. Please explain:

jo _ The landlord is not the owner of the property where I live. Please explain:

k. I did not receive the notice to terminate or the notice was legally incorrect. Please
explain:

1. Other defenses. Please explain:

4. You have a constitutional right to request a trial by a jury of your peers instead of a judge.
However, there are some things you should know about this right:

a. You may have waived this right in your lease, so review it carefully before requesting a
jury trial.

b. If you want a jury trial, you should request it in writing when you file your answer or you
may waive your right to a jury trial.

c. Jury trials are not simple to conduct. You will bear some responsibility in the process
and, if you are unprepared, it may be difficult to represent yourself in a jury trial.
Additionally, once you request a jury trial, if you change your mind and you want the
judge to decide your case, the landlord will need to agree.

d. If you have questions about whether to request a jury trial, you should speak with an
attorney.



5. Select whether you want to request a jury trial: (Check only one.)
|— I want a judge to decide my case.

_|7_ I want a jury to decide my case.

All of the statements made above are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

Signature:
Printed Name:
Date:
Address:

Telephone:
E-mail Address:

Note: Each defendant named in the complaint for who this answer is filed must sign this answer unless
the defendant’s attorney signs.



STEP TWO

OBTAIN JUDGMENT



IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff{(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)
NON-MILITARY AFFIDAVIT
L , being first duly sworn, states under penalty of perjury:

1. That I know of my own personal knowledge that the respondent is not on active duty in the armed
forces of the United States.

2. That I have inquired of the armed forces of the United States and the U. S. Public Health Service
to determine whether the respondent, is a member of the
armed services and am attaching certificates that the respondent is not now in the armed forces.

Date:
Signature
Name [Print]
Address
City, State, Zip Code
Telephone
Acknowledged before me on , by who is
personallv known to me or produced as identification, and who
did / did not take an oath.

NOTARY PUBLIC-STATE OF FLORIDA
Name:

Commission No.:
Commission Expires:

I CERTIFY that I have mailed, or hand delivered, a copy of this affidavit to Attorney for opposing
part/Pro se party at the name and address and phone number below:

Name:

Address:

Phone:




IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff{(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)

MOTION FOR CLERK’S DEFAULT — POSSESSION (COUNT D

Plaintiff asks the clerk to enter a Default against ,
Defendant, for failing to respond as required by law to Plaintiff’s complaint for residential
eviction.

Signature

Name [Print]

Address

City, State, Zip Code

Telephone

DEFAULT — POSSESSION (COUNT I)

A Default is entered in this action against the Defendant for eviction for failure to respond as
required by law.

Date:

JODY PHILLIPS
CLERK OF THE COURT

By:

Deputy Clerk

(Insert name of Landlord)

(Insert name of Tenant)



IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff{(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)

MOTION FOR COURT DEFAULT — POSSESSION (COUNTD

Plaintiff moves for entry of a Default by the Court because the Defendant,
, failed to place the rent money into the

Registry of the Court as required by law.

Signature of Landlord/Plaintiff

DEFAULT — POSSESSION (COUNTI)

A Default is entered in this action against the Defendant, ,
Named in foregoing Motion for failure to deposit the rent money into the Registry of the Court
as required by law.

DONE AND ORDERED in Duval County, Florida this day of ,

County Judge



IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff{(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)

MOTION FOR FINAL JUDGMENT — POSSESSION (COUNT D)

Plaintiff asks the court to enter a Final Judgment against ,
Defendant, for residential eviction and says:

1. Plaintiff filed a complaint alleging grounds for residential eviction of Defendant.
2. A Default was entered by the Clerk of this Court on (if applicable)

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff asks this Court to enter a Final Judgment for Residential Eviction
against Defendant.

Signature

Name [Print]

Address

City, State, Zip Code

CC: Telephone

(Insert name and address of defendant)

This form was completed with the assistance of:
Name:
Address:
Telephone Number:



IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff{(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)

FINAL JUDGMENT — POSSESSION (COUNT I)

THIS ACTION came before the Court upon Plaintiff’s Complaint for eviction. On the evidence

presented it is ADJUDGED that the Plaintiff, , recover
from Defendant, , possession of the real property described
as follows:

and $ as court costs, for which let Writs of Possession and Execution now issue.

ORDERED in Jacksonville, Duval County, Florida on

County Judge

cc:
Plaintiff’s Name and address

Defendant’s Name and address




IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff{(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)

MOTION FOR/TO

The Plaintiff | Defendant (check one) moves for entry of an order by the Court
Granting the following relief (explain what you want the Court to do):

The grounds or reason for this motion are (explain):

Certificate of Service

I certify that a copy has been furnished to (name of other
party) at (address or email)
by email / mail / hand delivery (circle one) on (date).

Signature

Name [Print]

Address

City, State, Zip Code

Telephone



STEP THREE

OBTAIN WRIT OF POSSESSION



IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff{(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)

WRIT OF POSSESSION

IN THE NAME OF THE STATE OF FLORIDA, TO THE SHERIFF OF SAID COUNTY —
WHEREAS, judgment was rendered on the day of , 20 that
recover of and from

possession of

You are hereby commanded to post a copy of the writ of notice, conspicuously, on said premises
and after 24 hours remove all persons from said premises and to put
in full possession thereof.

Given under my hand and seal of the County Court, this day of , 20
JODY PHILLIPS
CLERK OF THE COURT
By:

Deputy Clerk



IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff{(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)

MOTION TO DISBURSE FUNDS FROM REGISTRY OF THE COURT

Plaintiff(s) asks the Court to direct the Clerk to disburse all the funds being held in the Registry
of the Court.

Date:

Signature

Name [Print]

Address

City, State, Zip Code

Telephone

ORDER TO DISBURSE FUNDS FROM REGISTRY OF THE COURT

The Court having reviewed the file and pleadings therein and being otherwise fully advised in
the premises, it is therefore

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that the Clerk of the Court is hereby directed to disburse all the
funds held in the Registry of the Court to the Plaintiff.

DONE AND ORDERED in Duval County, Florida on the day of , 20

cc:
Plaintiff’s Name and address County Judge

Defendant’s Name and address




IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff{(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)
NOTICE OF VOLUNTARY DISMISSAL
Plaintiff{s), , in the above styled cause hereby submit this

Notice of Voluntary Dismissal as the cause has been settled between the parties.

I certify that a copv of this document was [check one only] |7 mailed |—_faxed
emailed _r_hand-delivered to the person(s) listed below on the day of
, 20

Defendant(s):
Address:

City, State, Zip:

Date:

Signature

Name [Print]

Address

City, State, Zip Code

Telephone



STEP FOUR

DAMAGES



IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff{(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)
AFFIDAVIT OF DAMAGES
STATE OF FLORIDA
COUNTY OF DUVAL

BEFORE ME, the undersigned authority, personally appeared
who being first duly sworn, says:
1. Tam|  the Plaintiff or E the Plaintiff’s agent (check appropriate response) in this case
and am authorized to make this affidavit.
2. This affidavit is based on my own personal knowledge.
3. Defendant has possession of the property which is the subject of this eviction under an

agreement to pay rent of $ per (week, month, or other payment
period).

4. Defendant has not paid the rent due since (date of payment tenant has failed
to make).

5. Defendant owes Plaintiff $ (past due rent amount) as alleged in the
Complaint plus interest.

6. Defendant owes Plaintiff $ (amount of other damages) as alleged in the

Complaint plus interest.

Date:

Signature

Name [Print]

Address

City, State, Zip Code

Telephone



Acknowledged before me on , by who is
personallv known to me or produced as identification, and who _|
did / did not take an oath.

NOTARY PUBLIC-STATE OF FLORIDA
Name:

Commission No.:

Commission Expires:

I CERTIFY that I have mailed, or hand delivered, a copy of this affidavit to Attorney for opposing
part/Pro se party at the name and address and phone number below:

Name:

Address:

Phone:




IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff{(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)

EVICTION POSSESSION — COUNT 11

YOU ARE COMMANDED to serve this Summons and a copy of the Complaint or petition in
this action on:

Defendant(s):
Address:
City, State, Zip:

A lawsuit has been filed against you. You have 20 calendar days after this summons is served on
you to file a response to the attached Complaint stating any defenses why you do not owe the
damages and/or agree or disagree with the statements in the Complaint in this Court. A phone
call will not protect you. Your written legal defense (response), including the above case number
and named parties, must be filed within 20 calendar days if you want the Court to hear your case.
If you do not file your response on time, you may lose the case and your wages, money, and
property may thereafter be taken without further notice from the Court.

You must also provide a copy of your written response by mail, email or hand delivery to the
Plaintiff named below.

Plaintiff’s name

Address
DATE:

JODY PHILLIPS
CLERK OF THE COURT

By:

Deputy Clerk



IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff{(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)

MOTION FOR CLERK’S DEFAULT — DAMAGES (COUNT II)

Plaintiff asks the clerk to enter a Default against ,
Defendant, for failing to respond as required by law to Plaintiff’s complaint for damages.

Signature

Name [Print]

Address

City, State, Zip Code

Telephone

DEFAULT — DAMAGES (COUNT II)

A Default is entered in this action against the Defendant for damages for failure to respond as
required by law.

Date:

JODY PHILLIPS
CLERK OF THE COURT

By:

Deputy Clerk

(Insert name of Landlord)

(Insert name of Tenant)



IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff{(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)

MOTION FOR COURT DEFAULT — DAMAGES (COUNT II)

Plaintiff moves for entry of a default by the Court because the Defendant,
, failed to place the rent money into the

Registry of the Court as required by law.

Signature of Landlord/Plaintiff

DEFAULT — DAMAGES (COUNT 1I)

A default is entered in this action against the Defendant, ,
named in foregoing Motion for failure to deposit the rent money into the Registry of the Court as
required by law.

DONE AND ORDERED in Duval County, Florida on the day of , 20

County Judge



IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff{(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)

MOTION FOR FINAL JUDGMENT - DAMAGES (COUNT II)

Plaintiff asks the court to enter a Final Judgment against

Defendant, for damages and says:

1. Plaintiff filed a Complaint for Damages against the Defendant.

2. A Default was entered by the Clerk of this Court on (if
applicable).

3. In support of this Motion, Plaintiff submits the attached Affidavit of Damages.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff asks this Court to enter a Final Judgment against Defendant.

Signature

Name [Print]

Address

City, State, Zip Code

Telephone

I CERTIFY that I have mailed, or hand delivered, a copy of this affidavit to Attorney for opposing
part/Pro se party at the name and address and phone number below:

Name:

Address:

Phone:

This form was completed with the assistance of:
Name:
Address:
Telephone Number:



IN THE COUNTY COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR DUVAL COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No.:
Division:
Plaintiff{(s)
Vs.
Defendant(s)

FINAL JUDGMENT — DAMAGES (COUNT II)

THIS ACTION came before the Court upon Plaintiff’s Complaint for Damages. On the evidence

presented it is ADJUDGED that the Plaintiff, , recover
from Defendant, , the sum of § with costs in
the sum of § , making a total of $ , that shall bear interest at the rate of

% a year for which let execution now issue.

ORDERED in Jacksonville, Duval County, Florida on

County Judge

cc:
Plaintiff’s Name and address

Defendant’s Name and address
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