	INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING

	COMPLAINT TO QUIET TITLE BASED ON 
FRAUDULENT CONVEYANCE UNDER SECTION 65.091, FLORIDA STATUTES
	 (Florida Rule of Civil Procedure Form 1.925)

Disclaimer

This form is a Florida Supreme Court approved form, Form 1.925 and is being provided pursuant to Section 65.091, Florida Statutes.  The Clerk’s Office cannot render legal advice, and is not rendering legal advice by the provision of this form and these instructions.  Quiet title actions are complicated legal matters best handled by an attorney.  You are urged to seek legal counsel for any assistance necessary in filing any legal action, including a quiet title action.  Deputy clerks are not authorized to provide any legal advice beyond providing this form and these instructions.  The Clerk’s Office makes no representation that this form is adequate for your specific needs.

Filing Fees

Sub-subparagraph 28.241(1)(a)2.a., Florida Statutes, requires persons to pay a graduated filing fee based upon the value of the claim.  You must pay the fee which you believe represents the value of your claim.

50,000 or less 						$400.00
More than $50,000 but less than $250,000 		$905.00
$250,000 or more in value				$1,905.00

Summons Issuance Fee				$10.00 Per Summons

IN ADDITION TO THE FILING FEE AND SUMMONS ISSUANCE FEE, you must arrange for service of the complaint. You are responsible for ensuring the complaint is served and for paying all service fees associated with service of the complaint.  The Clerk may advise you of the options available for service of the complaint in Marion County, but you are responsible for selecting the party who will serve the complaint. 

• If service is outside of Marion County, you must contact the Sheriff of that county to obtain applicable service fees.

• It is suggested that you discuss who will file the return of service with the Clerk once the complaint has been served.  It is your responsibility to ensure that the return of service is filed.

General

Prior to filling out the complaint, you should get copies of the following:

	a.	The deed(s) you are claiming are fraudulent;

	b.	The deed which conveyed the property in question to you; and

c.	The deed or deeds from prior owners of the property in question necessary to show the chain of title for at least seven years prior to the recording of deed you are claiming is fraudulent.

The Court will determine ownership of the property in question, so you should gather all records that prove your case, including tax records. 

Caption

The heading on the form is called the caption.

In the first blank, above the word “Plaintiff(s),” you should fill in the names of all persons which you claim own the property in question.

The case number will be completed by the Clerk’s Office.

In the second blank, above the word “Defendant(s),” you should fill in the names of all persons which you believe are fraudulently claiming ownership of the property in question.

Introductory Paragraph

In the first blank, you should again fill in the names of all persons which you claim own the property in question.

In the second blank, you should again fill in the names of all persons which you believe are fraudulently claiming ownership of the property in question.

Paragraph 1

[bookmark: _Hlk138949473]In the blank, you should fill in the name of the county where the property is located.

Paragraph 2

In the second blank, you should again fill in the exact legal description of the property in question.

Paragraph 3

In this paragraph, you should list the deeds which show you and, if necessary, the previous owners before you, have owned the property in question for more than seven years.  If you have not owned the property in question for more than seven years, you should provide information concerning the deed that transferred the property in question to the person(s) who sold it to you. You should continue providing deed information for each deed necessary to show continuous ownership for a total of more than seven years.

Paragraph 4

In the first blank, you should fill in the date the fraudulent deed was executed/signed

In the second blank, you should fill in the date the fraudulent deed was recorded.  

In the third and fourth blanks, you should fill in the Official Record Book book number and page number shown on the fraudulent deed.  

In the fifth blank, you should fill in the name of the county where the fraudulent deed is recorded.

Signature Block

Each person claiming ownership of the property in question should complete the signature block. Including providing their mailing address, telephone number, and email address.

READ ALL OF THE INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS BEFORE COMPLETING THE FORMS AND SUBMITTING THEM FOR FILING. DO NOT SIGN ANY DOCUMENTS THAT REQUIRE A NOTARY OR DEPUTY CLERK SIGNATURE UNTIL YOU ARE IN FRONT OF THE NOTARY OR DEPUTY CLERK. RETAIN COPIES OF ALL FORMS FILED FOR YOUR OWN RECORDS. DOCUMENTS MUST BE LEGIBLE, TYPE WRITTEN OR LEGIBLY HANDWRITTEN IN BLACK OR BLUE INK.   IT IS IMPORTANT TO REMEMBER THAT A DELAY CAN OCCUR AS A RESULT OF ANY ERRORS ON YOUR PAPERWORK.

THIS DOES NOT CONSTITUTE LEGAL ADVICE. CIVIL COURT INFORMATION AND FORMS PROVIDED BY THE MARION COUNTY CLERK OF THE CIRCUIT COURT SHOULD BE CONSIDERED INFORMATIONAL ONLY, AND MAY NOT BE APPLICABLE IN EVERY SITUATION. THE INFORMATION IS NOT INTENDED TO BE USED AS LEGAL ADVICE. SPECIFIC GUIDANCE AS TO HOW TO PROCEED WITH FILING OR ANSWERING A LAWSUIT AND QUESTIONS ABOUT YOUR PARTICULAR SITUATION SHOULD BE DIRECTED TO A QUALIFIED ATTORNEY.  
